Nunawading Basketball News



NUNAWADING BASKETBALL | The Melbourne East Demons are set to make a basketball comeback this Friday night, the Nunawading ‘Burwood One’ Spectres men’s team to honour the 1968 Victorian State Championship team with heritage uniforms in their South East Australian Basketball League fixture against the Melbourne Tigers.


Ironically, it was the Tigers (then Church Tigers) that the Demons claimed their first ever championship against 50 years ago. Melbourne East were not expected to challenge the powerful Tigers roster which boasted five members of the Olympic team, a reserve and the Australian Head Coach, Ken Watson. The Demons roster didn’t even lay claim to a single State team representative.


“We’re excited to be celebrating our ’68 Demons team,” Nunawading Basketball Operations Manager Paul Flynn said.


“Melbourne East (Basketball Association) has an incredible history and we’re proud that our players and teams embrace that and want honour the pioneers of our association.”


“To have the Demons taking the floor against the Tigers in a SEABL contest is exciting and we look forward to welcoming back many of the ’68 team, along with many Spectres alumni to Nunawading Basketball Centre this Friday night.”


The current day Spectres will draw inspiration from the ’68 Demons as they look to power towards the SEABL Finals. Melbourne East shattered the more fancied Tigers 83-78 in an overtime thriller at the old Albert Park Stadium. Russell Riches posted 22 points, Tony Holden 21 and Russell Simon 19.


“Thanks to our wonderful partners iAthletic, we’ve been able to replicate the ’68 Melbourne East Demons uniforms for this game,” Flynn said.


“We’ve even brought back the short-shorts,” the playing shorts set to be 10cm shorter than the current SEABL uniforms.


All Demons playing singlets will be auctioned on the night at Nunawading Basketball Centre.


1968 Melbourne East Demons; Pat Dinon, Grant Barrett, Greg Peck, Fred Fegan, Mike Bainbridge, Russell Riches, Russell Simon, Tony Holden, Glen Harbeck, Greg Welsh, Owen Hughan (Coach).


2018 Nunawading ‘Burwood One’ Spectres; Ambros Eugster, Andrew Steel, Costas Hronopoulos, Dain Swetalla, Daniel Baxter, Jack Gandolfo, Jack Saunders, Jesse Caspersz, Jon Cooke, Luke Van Rijn, Matt O’Hea, Shane McDonald, Simon Conn, Tom Wright, Zachary Coleman-Bock, David Biwer (Head Coach), Duncan Berg (Assistant Coach), Neville Griffiths (Team Manager).


Friday 13 July
Nunawading ‘Burwood One’ Spectres v Melbourne Tigers
Nunawading Basketball Centre | Women 6:30pm, Men 8:30pm
Purchase Tickets Online;

Back to top